Wash it! - The cloth diaper in our life

2019.01.14

Nowadays, having a zerowaste home - or working towards one - is not something strange fashion topic, but a necessarity. Our planet is overpopulated and overran with plastic, the so-called Millenials are in charge to turn the fate of the human race.

My experience is that having a baby - or more! - can make lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots of trash if you are not mindful enough. And nothing makes more waste than non-reusable diapers.

I won't show you pictures from huge piles of plastic diapers, or people swimming in the ocean full of trash - I assume you can use the Google for that. I just want you to know, that scientists says it can take approximately 400 years for one non-reusable diaper to dispose. What does it mean? Either you leave several hundreds of mildly toxic trash for your great-grand children, or - depending on your local waste policy - the burning of them spread toxins in the air. That's not a nice legacy, huh?

Luckily in the last decade the modern washable nappies went through great development, and producers' creativity in new designs is awesome. The variety of reusable diapers is HUGE, it can be harder to figure out which one to choose, than babycarrier products 🙈🙉🙊 But as you can find people to help with babywearing, you can find people to help with cloth diapers.

Ask in your local mommy group if there is anyone using them, join the cloth diaper Facebook groups, you can watch videos on Youtube, read blog posts, etc. All the necessary informations are just a few clicks away from you.  Try as many designs as you can find, figure out which solution is best for you! 🖤

I've started to use cloth diaper when my first child was 4 months old. She had a few outer lining and lots of cotton textile - I used them mixed with disposable paper diapers. When my second child was born, I really wanted to use 100% reusable nappy, but we were after a huge change with moving countryside, and I stayed at home alone with a 21 months old and a newborn, I had noooooo mental stability to think about the system washing the diapers needed. So I gave up.

But my third born... In the first weeks he made about twenty spotty diaper in a day, and his skin only could wear a special non-scented, non-bleached type of non reusable diaper, with price high AF. So he was two weeks old small when I dig up the leftovers from the pevious diaper collections his siblings had, and started to purchase new ones, too. I decided, that this time I'll try every type I can reach. Outer and interline, AIOs, SIOs, pocketed, heavy wetters, slim designs, with hook and loop, with snaps... All the versions the modern cloth diapers can offer.

Now we use something like 20 pieces of diapers (sometimes I lend a few of them, or sell/trade some), and I wash them every third day. It gives me about an hour extra work every week with rinsing them after use, put them in the washing machine, take them out, and fold them after drying. For me it's totally worth it, we have almost no communal waste this way, and my son's butt is perfectly healthy. He doesn't need any moisturizer, or commercial wet wipes, and did not have any diaper rash in his life.

And the colours! I love the colour therapy! 💛

Follow me to read about different reusable diaper types I tryed!


Would you like to see your product here? Contact me!

Work with babywearing equipments: sling travelling & testing, photoshooting & making videos.

Babywearing education and product development.

Find me as a photographer!

Az oldalt a Webnode működteti Sütik
Készítsd el weboldaladat ingyen! Ez a weboldal a Webnode segítségével készült. Készítsd el a sajátodat ingyenesen még ma! Kezdd el